Letter Writing

We recently taught a lesson on letter writing. Initially I was worried that our students would not be able to connect to the subject. I really like the resources that the BBC provide across the board for English education. So I turned to them for ideas and came across a real gem. A flash based program to introduce letter writing. It has animation, information, games and is HILARIOUS! As much as my students would not like to admit it they LOVED it. I tried my best to imbed it here, but wordpress would not have a bar of it. So here is the link:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/ks2/english/writing/letters/play/

It has some great characters including a robot with a South African accent. What’s not to like. Another site I like to use is http://www.futureme.org/
Students can go on, enter their e-mail addresses and they write a letter to themselves. The website will send it back to them in 12 months time. A really nice activity that my husband does every year.

After the activity my students wrote letters for their homework and they did a great job so the activity was a success!

Leave a Reply

