Middle School Girls and Baby Talk

Baby voice has always been a pet peeve for me, and this year when I heard I might be teaching a notorious baby voice I was filled with dread. The way it turned out I didn’t end up having in her my class, but it did get me wondering how I would handle the situation. Then I came across this article:

http://www.theatlantic.com/education/archive/2014/02/why-middle-school-girls-sometimes-talk-like-babies/283894/

An interesting point of view. I have to admit I am a little sceptical about the idea of sitting down with a cup of tea and asking my 8th grade girls why they use baby voice, I am afraid I would just get a shrug of the shoulders. However I definitely think it is worth a try. I also think it should be covered in oral presentation skills.

The whole situation reminded me of a film I recently watched that dealt with the subject “In a World” . Check out the trailer, it was a nice watch dealing with an interesting topic.

Leave a Reply

